International Science Programme (ISP)

News and Events

  • 2-6 October 2017: Annual Review Meeting for the academic year 2016/2017at Makerere University.
  • 12-13 September 2017: Swedish Coordinators meeting in Visby. Program
  • 24-28 April 2017: Annual Planning Metting for the academic year 2017/2018 at Makerere University. Program.
  • 10-14 October 2016: The Annual Review Meeting (ARM) for the Academic year 2015/2016 at Makerere University. Program
  • 19-20 September 2016: Meeting in Stockholm for Swedish partners in the bilateral program. Program
  • 25-29 April 2016: The Annual Planning Meetings (APM) for the bilateral collaboration with Uganda was held 25-29 April in Kampala.
  • 12 December 2015: A start up meeting for Swedish partners in the new bilateral agreement was held at the Sida headquarter in Stockholm. Powerpoint presentation by Katri Pohjolainen Yap
  • 3 November 2015: Signing of the bilateral research agreement Sweden-Uganda. Read more about the event on Makerere University website.

Back to top.

Documents

Enclosures to Agreements with Swedish collaborating partners:

Other documents

Insurance for students and other visitors - Terms and conditions

Back to top.

Scientific Programs

The numbers within parenthesis refers to the numbering of the projects during the application process. The Swedish collaborators are not all mentioned, but at least one at each collaborating institution is indicated.

(313) Strengthening Social Science Research for National Development. Coordinator: Andrew Elias State (deanfss@chuss.mak.ac.ug  and adyeeristate@gmail.com). Swedish collaborator: Staffan Höjer (staffan.hojer@socwork.gu.se), University of Gothenburg.

(316) Capacity Building in Mathematics and Its Applications. Coordinator: John Mango Magero (mango@cns.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborators: Bengt-Ove Turesson (bengt-ove.turesson@liu.se), Linköping University , Sergei Silvestrov (sergei.silvestrov@mdh.se), Mälardalen University , Timo Koski (tjtkoski@math.kth.se), Royal Institute of Technology , Paul Vaderlind (paul@math.su.se), Stockholm University, David Sumpter (david.sumpter@math.uu.se), Uppsala University.

(317) Building Research Capacity in Innovative Information and Communication Technologies for Development (ICT4D) for Sustainable Socio-economic Growth in Uganda. Coordinator: Baino Mugisha (baino@cis.mak.ac.ug and bainomugisha@gmail.com). Swedish collaborator: Michel R. V. Chaudron (michel.chaudron@gu.se), University of Gothenburg, and Pär Meiling (par.meiling@ait.gu.se), Chalmers University of Technology.

(321) Training for sustainable spatially enabled e-services delivery in Uganda. Coordinator: Gilbert Maiga (gilmaiga@gmail.com). Swedish collaborator: Ali Mansourian (Ali.Mansourian@nateko.lu.se), Lund University.

(331) Partnership for Building Resilient Ecosystems and Livelihoods to Climate Change and Disaster. Coordinator: Yazidhi Bamutaze (yazidhibamutaze@gmail.com). Swedish collaborators: Petter Pilesjö (petter.pilesjo@gis.lu.se), Lund University, Giuliano Di Baldassarre (Giuliano.Dibaldassarre@geo.uu.se), Uppsala University.

(343) Innovating health systems and healthcare delivery in rural Uganda: towards building critical capacity to tackle the rising Type 2 Diabetes challenge. Coordinator: David Guwatudde  (dguwatudde@musph.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Meena Daivadanam, Karolinska Institute and Uppsala University (meena.daivadanam@ki.se and meena.daivadanam@ikv.uu.se)

(346) Towards better treatment of infectious diseases in children in rural Uganda. Better diagnostics and algorithms for increased quality of care, rational use of medicines and minimized antimicrobial resistance. Coordinator: Celestino Obua (cobua@chs.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Cecilia Stålsby Lundborg (cecilia.stalsby.lundborg@ki.se), Karolinska Institute.

(372) Quality improvement of Makerere University’s population-based health and demographic surveillance site: maximizing the potential of the research platform for capacity development andgeneration of valid population data to inform policy formulation. Coordinator: Fred Wabwire-Mangen (fwabwire@musph.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Claudia Hanson (claudia.hanson@ki.se), Karolinska Institute.

(374) Information Support for Quality Higher Education and Research in Uganda. Coordinator: Hellen Byamugisha (byamugisha.helen86@gmail.com and hbyamugisha@mulib.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Johan Hinders (jhinders@kth.se), Royal Institute of Technology.

(334) Building Capacity for Knowledge and Information Production and Sharing for Socio-Economic Development in Uganda. Coordinator: George Kiyingi dean.easlis@cis.mak.ac.ug and wkiyingi@cis.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Veronica Trépagny (veronica.trepagny@hb.se), University of Borås.

(376) Strengthening Quality Assurance initiatives for relevance and optimal productivity at Makerere University and partnering public universities. Coordinator: Vincent Ssembatya (vas@qad.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Åsa Kettis, Uppsala University (asa.kettis@uadm.uu.se).

(362) Building Research and Training capacities to develop innovations in sustainable intensification of maize–based cropping systems for improving productivity, food security and resilience to climate change in Uganda. Coordinator: Herbert Talwana (haltalwana@caes.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Sigrun Dahlin (Sigrun.Dahlin@slu.se), Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Enhancement of Research Environment, Coordination, Leadership and Management for sustainability at Makerere University. Coordinator: Buyinza Mukadasi (buyinza@caes.mak.ac.ug and Buyinza@rgt.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: N/A.

(381) ICT based support to Research. Coordinator: Kitumba Frank (fkitumba@dicts.mak.ac.ug). Swedish collaborator: Nils Jensen (nils@dsv.su.se), Stockholm University.

(382) Upgrading and Strengthening the University Wide GIS centre. Coordinator: John Richard Otukei (jrotukei@cedat.mak.ac.ug). Swedsih collaborators: Yifang Ban (yifang@kth.se) and Andrea Nascetti (nascetti@kth.se, Royal Institute of Technology, Petter Pilesjö (petter.pilesjo@gis.lu.se), Lund University.

(2391) Enhancement of Gender Focused Research Capacity Building of Women in Leadership and Gender Mainstreaming in Higher Education in Uganda. Coordinator: Consolata Kabonesa (ckabonesa@chuss.mak.ac.ug and consolata.kabonesa@gmail.com). Swedish collaborator: Margareta Espling (margareta.espling@geography.gu.se), University of Gothenburg.

(344) Innovations for accelerating reduction in maternal, newborn and child mortality in post conflict Uganda. Coordinator: James Tumwine (kabaleimc@gmail.com). Swedish collaborator: Caludia Hanson (Claudia.Hanson@ki.se), Karolinska Institute.

Back to top.

Map of Uganda