Eastern Africa Universities Mathematics Programme (EAUMP)

The network EAUMP was constituted in 2002 by the Department of Mathematics at University of Nairobi (UoN) Kenya, University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) Tanzania and Makerere University (Uganda). A few years later the Departments of Mathematics at University of Zambia (UNZA) Zambia and University of Rwanda (UR) also joined the network. The network is coordinated by Prof Patrick Weke, UoN.

In 2016 the network reported

  • 13 PhD-graduations (10 local and 3 sandwich). Among others, the first PhD from UNZA supported by the network - Dr Mervis Kikonko - defended her thesis "Some new Results Concerning General Weighted Regular Sturm-Liouville Problems" on 13 December at Luleå University of Technology.
  • 20 MSc-graduations.
  • 3 licentiate degrees by sandwich students in Sweden.
  • 42 publications in scientific journals.

The network also organized the "ICTP/EAUMP School on Number Theory" (2nd – 22nd July 2016) in Kigali, Rwanda, and also "The 3rd EAUMP conference on Advances in Mathematics and its Applications" at Makerere University, 26th – 29th October 2016, with around 120 participants from 14 countries.


The objectives of the network are:

  • Enhancement of postgraduate training with special emphasis to PhD training.
  • Establishing and strengthening collaborative research in Mathematics areas of interest in the region.
  • Strengthening the collaborating Mathematics departments in terms of equipment and literature.
  • Development of resources for the collaborating Mathematics Departments.
  • Postdoctoral training of academic staff.


Overall Coordinator: Prof Patrick Weke, University of Nairobi
Email: pweke@uonbi.ac.ke

EAUMP 10th Anniversary

Student theses

Some rescent Licentiate theses by EAUMP- students

Nodes in the network