Bilateral collaboration with Bolivia

ISP has been assigned by Sida as the coordinating entity for the Swedish activities in the bilateral program with two institutions in Bolivia from 01 July 2021. The two universities are Universidad Mayor de San Andrés (UMSA) and Universidad Mayor de San Simón (UMSS).

The program phase is for five years, i.e. until 30 June 2025.

Annual cycle:

More information
News and events
Documents
Scientific programs
For students coming to Sweden
Contact information

DOCUMENTS

Contracts
Grant agreement between Sida and ISP regarding the Reseach cooperation programme UMSA Bolivia 2021-2021. Sida Contribution no. 54100087
Grant agreement between Sida and ISP regarding the Reseach cooperation programme UMSS Bolivia 2021-2021. Sida Contribution no. 13486

Enclosures
UMSA

  1. Grant Agreement between Sweden and Bolivia, represented by Universidad Mayor de San Andrés regarding the Research Cooperation Programme “Science, technology, and innovation 2021-2025
  2. Sida’s general conditions applicable to Grants from Sida to Swedish Governmental Authorities.
  3. Sida´s Standard Terms of Reference for Annual Audit of Project/Programme support.
  4. List of collaborating Swedish universities

FInal Programme Budget

UMSS

  1. Grant Agreement between Sweden and Bolivia, represented by Universidad Mayor de San Simón regarding the Research Cooperation Programme Science, technology, and innovation 2021-2025
  2. Sida’s general conditions applicable to Grants from Sida to Swedish Governmental Authorities.
  3. Sida´s Standard Terms of Reference for Annual Audit of Project/Programme support.
  4. List of collaborating Swedish universities
  5. Final Programme Budget

Financial reporting
Financial reporting template
ToR for financial reporting

Presentations
Carla Puglia - 14 October 2021
Archana Ganganaboina - 14 February 2022

For students coming to Sweden:
Students who wants to request Letter of Support, Insurance certificate and subsistence allowance from ISP, please follow the link for more information: https://www.isp.uu.se/allowance

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMS

Below is a list of those subprograms in the bilateral collaboration that involve Swedish partners.

Universidad Mayor de San Andrés (UMSA)

AREA I: RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

Sub-program 01: Valorization of Bolivian foods by functional macromolecular components.
Swedish Coordinator LU: Assoc. Prof. Javier Linares-Pasten javier.linares_pasten@biotek.lu.se

Sub-program 02: Biocontrol techniques aimed to improve agricultural productivity
Swedish Coordinator LU: Prof. Allan Rasmusson allan.rasmusson@biol.lu.se

AREA II: RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN TECHNOLOGICAL AND PRODUCTIVE DEVELOPMENT

Sub-program 03: Bio-based inputs: biocontrol of coffee fungal pathogens. Microbial treatment for quinoa growth
Swedish Coordinator SLU: Prof. Dan Funck Jensen dan.jensen@slu.se

Sub-program 04: Biological control using bacteriophages for main bacterial pathogens
Swedish Coordinator UU: Prof. Dan I. Andersson Dan.Andersson@imbim.uu.se

Sub-program 05: Research on production of biopolymers from quinoa residues using halotolerant bacterial isolates from the Bolivian Altiplano
Swedish Coordinator UmU: Dr. Carlos Martín Medina carlos.martin@umu.se

Sub-program 06: Agro-industrial biotechnology: bio-inputs from agro-industrial waste
Swedish Coordinator LU: Assoc. Prof. Javier Linares-Pasten javier.linares_pasten@biotek.lu.se

Sub-program 07: Animal genetic resources for sustainable utilization
Swedish Coordinator SLU: Prof. Erling Strandberg erling.strandberg@slu.se

AREA III: RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN WATER AND SOIL

Sub-program 08: Hydrogeology, water & soil biogeochemistry
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Prof. Prosun Bhattacharya prosun@kth.se

AREA IV: RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN ENERGY, RENEWABLE RAW-MATERIALS AND MINING

Sub-program 09: Materials, nanomaterials and renewable energies for sustainable rural develop
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Prof. Göran Lindbergh gnli@kth.se

Sub-program 10: Production of renewable materials and applications
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Prof. Henrik Kusar hkusar@kth.se

Sub-program 11: Up-scaling of renewable chemical processes
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Dr. Efthymios Kantarelis ekan@kth.se

Sub-program 12: Products from Non-Metallic minerals
Swedish Coordinator LTH: Prof. Marta-Lena Antii Marta-Lena.Antti@ltu.se

AREA V: HEALTH RESEARCH PROGRAM AND TRAINING

Sub-program 13: Diarrheal diseases
Swedish Coordinator GU: Dr. Johan Bengtsson-Palme johan.bengtsson-palme@gu.se

Sub-program 14: Diabetes type 2: Nutraceutics and clinical research
Swedish Coordinator KI: Prof. Claes-Göran Östensson claes-goran.ostenson@ki.se

Sub-program 16: Biomolecules of medicinal and industrial interest: Antiparasitic
Swedish Coordinator UU: Prof. Staffan Svärd Staffan.Svard@icm.uu.se

Sub-program 17: Biomolecules of medicinal and industrial interest: Anticancer
Swedish Coordinator. UU: Prof. Ulf Göransson ulf.goransson@farmbio.uu.se

AREA VI: RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN SOCIOECONOMICS, EDUCATION AND CULTURE

Sub-program 18: Migration and the challenges of gender/identity dynamics and climate change
Swedish Coordinator UU: Dr. Charlotta Widmark charlotta.widmark@antro.uu.se

Sub-program 19: Historical ecology of the "Pie de Monte Andino-Amazónico"
Swedish Coordinator UU: Dr. Anneli Ekblom Anneli.ekblom@arkeologi.uu.se

AREA VII: RESEARCH MANAGEMENT

Sub-program 21: Support for innovation management at Universidad Mayor de San Andrés
Swedish Coordinator LU: Prof. Olof Olsson olof.olsson@tbiokem.lth.se


Universidad Mayor de San Simón (UMSS)

AREA 0: CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGIES

Sub-program 00: Chemical technologies
Swedish Coordinator LU: Prof. Björn Bergenståhl bjorn.bergenstahl@food.lth.se

AREA I: AGRICULTURE, LIVESTOCK AND FORESTRY

Sub-program 01: Soil Biological Diversity
Swedish Coordinator SLU: Prof. Rodomiro Octavio Ortiz Rios rodomiro.ortiz@slu.se

AREA II: SUSTAINABLE MANAGEMENT AND GOVERNANCE OF WATER AND SOIL

Sub-program 02: Water resources development and planning
Swedish Coordinator SU: Prof. Monika Quinones Winder monika.winder@su.se

AREA III: SOCIAL AND HUMANITIES

Sub-program 03: Social Sciences and Humanities
Swedish Coordinator GU: Prof. Anders Burman anders.burman@globalstudies.gu.se

AREA IV: INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER

Sub-program 04: Innovation Engineering
Swedish Coordinator LU-CIRCLE: Prof. Lena Trojer  lena.trojer@circle.lu.se

AREA V: ENERGY

Sub-program 05: Energy
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Assoc. Prof. Anders Malmquist anders.malmquist@energy.kth.se

AREA VI: HEALTH AND LIFE SCIENCES

Sub-program 06: Public Health
Swedish Coordinator KTH: Miguel San Sebastián miguel.san.sebastian@umu.se

AREA IX: RESEARCH TRAINING QUALITY ASSURANCE

Sub-program 09: Research training quality assurance
Swedish Coordinator SLU: Roger Pettersson roger.pettersson@slu.se

Last modified: 2022-09-22