Bilateral collaboration with Mozambique

Since October 2011 ISP is assigned by Sida as the coordinating entity for the Swedish activities in the bilateral program with Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (UEM) in Maputo, Mozambique.

The previous agreement period between Sweden and Mozambique for this program was 2011 - 2015, with an extension up to 31 December 2017.

The new agreement period is 1 November 2017 - 31 December 2022, with an extension up to 31 December 2024.

More information
News and events
Scientific programs
Contact information

News and Events

Upcoming events:

  • Annual Planning Meeting: 27 November - 1 December, 2023.


Documents regarding the bilateral agreement with Mozambique.

  1. A simple template for projects with funds only for PhD Sandwich training in Sweden
  2. For projects where the indirect costs are budgeted as a separate Budgetline
  3. For projects where the indirect cost has been included in the budgetline amounts

Scientific Programs

Collaborating Swedish institutions:

  • Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH)
  • Chalmers University of Technology (CTH)
  • Karolinska Institutet (KI)
  • Linköping University (LiU)
  • Luleå University of Technology (LTU)
  • Lund University (LU)
  • Mälardalen University (MdU)
  • Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)
  • Stockholm University (SU)
  • Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)
  • Umeå University (UmU)
  • University of Borås (HB)
  • University of Gothenburg (GU)
  • University of Gävle (HiG)
  • Uppsala University (UU)
  • Örebro University (OrU)

Collaborating South African institutions:

  • North West University (NWU)
  • Stellenbosch University (SUN)
  • University of Cape Town (UCT)
  • University of Pretoria (UP)
  • University of the Free State (UFS)
  • University of the Western Cape (UWC)
  • University of South Africa (UNISA)
  • University of the Witswatersrand (Wits)

The collaboration consists of the following thematic areas/scientific programmes/supporting elements. Not all the Swedish and South African collaborators are mentioned by name below.

1 Thematic areas

1.1 Thematic area 1 - Population, health and well-being of the society
Coordinator: Esperança Sevene

1.2 Thematic area 2 - Agriculture, nutrition and food security
Coordinator: Sebastião Famba

1.3 Thematic area 3 - Natural resources, environment and climate change
Coordinator: Almeida Guissamulo

1.4 Thematic area 4 - Technology and innovation
Coordinator: Geraldo Nhumaio.

1.5 Thematic area 5 - Education, culture, good governance, ethics and human rights
Coordinator: Francisco Januário.

  • 1.5.1 Strengthening Municipal Democracy and Local Development: Social Sciences Research on Governance, Decentralization and Development;
    Coordinator: Carla Braga. Swedish collaborator: Sten Hagberg (UU).
  • 1.5.2 Biocultural Heritage in Mozambique: developing new heritage industries;
    Coordinator: Hilário Madiquida. Swedish collaborator: Anneli Ekblom (UU).
  • 1.5.3 Faculty of Economics (support for post-graduation programs);
    Coordinator: Fernando Lichucha.

2 Key areas

2.1 Key Supporting Elements

Contact information

Valerio Macandza, Director of the Cooperation Office and Coordinator of the Programme Support Unit. email:

Manuel Chenene, Coordinator of the UEM-Sweden programme.

Vasco Manjate, Programme Officer of the UEM-Sweden programme.

Benedito Mahumane, Financial Officer of the UEM-Sweden programme.

Olle Terenius, Scientific coordinator. email:

Monica Lindström, Administrator. email:

Last modified: 2024-03-08