The Eastern Africa Algebra Research Group (EAALG)

ISP through the Eastern Africa Universities Mathematics Programme (EAUMP) and Sida bilateral research programmes has built capacity in different areas of Mathematics within the Eastern Africa region since the year 2002. This is through training of PhDs, postdocs and organization of annual summer schools and conferences among others.

To consolidate these efforts and to ensure sustainability, different research groups were formed in the year 2018. Among these is the  Eastern Africa Algebra Research Group (EAALG). 

EAALG consists of members from seven mathematics departments representing seven different countries:

  • Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Khartoum University, Sudan
  • Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique
  • University of Rwanda, Rwanda
  • University of Zambia, Zambia


The overall objective of EAALG is to  build research and graduate training capacity in Algebra within the Eastern Africa region. This is done through offering scholarships to postgraduate students, organizing workshops and summer schools, facilitating research and also through collaborations among the member departments with other researchers from both the South and the North.

EAALG webpage:

Last modified: 2022-04-19